Class Schedule

Center for Simulation and Research

 

Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) courses given by Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center are sponsored by the American Heart Association. These courses present information and skills needed for management of seriously ill or injured pediatric patients.

Registrants must be physicians, nurses, paramedics or other healthcare personnel whose occupation requires managing the pediatric patient.

We offer PALS using a hybrid learning model. The majority of the learning is a self-directed online module. The skills portion will build on core concepts based on the AHA fundamentals, followed by skills testing at the Center for Simulation and Research on the Oak Campus.

Note: There is no longer a distinction between the initial PALS certification and the renewal course.

The online module instructions, PALS algorithum pocket card, and access key will be emailed to participants upon registration in the confirmation email.  All pre-course work is done online through the American Heart Association website and can be accessed by logging in from any computer.

 

Projected PALS dates are below.  Please continue to check for these dates to be opened.


Thursday, October 26, 2017
Thursday, November 16, 2017
Tuesday, November 21, 2017
Tuesday, December 12, 2017
Thursday, January 18, 2018
Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Tuesday, March 13, 2018
Thursday, March 22, 2018
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Tuesay, April 24, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Tuesday, June 26, 2018

 

 

Participants are required to bring documentation of completing the online module to participate in the skills testing portion and to receive the PALS provider card.  

The Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) courses given by Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center present information and skills training needed for the management of serious cardiac emergencies and arrest in the adult patient.  Small group teaching is empahsized, and use of the human patient simulator is included.

We offer ACLS using a hybrid learning model. The majority of the learning is a self-directed online module. The skills portion will build on core concepts based on the AHA fundamentals, followed by skills testing at the Center for Simulation & Research on the Oak Campus of Cincinnati Children's Hospital.

Note: There is no longer a distinction between the initial ACLS certification and the renewal course.

The online module instructions ACLS algorithum pocket card, and access key will be emailed to participants upon registration in the confirmation email.  All pre-course work is done online through the American Heart Association website and can be accessed by logging in from any computer.

 

Projected 2017 ACLS dates. Please continue to check the website for these dates to open.

Thursday, December 7, 2017
Thursday, February 1, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018

 

Participants are required to bring documentation of completion of the online module in order to participate in the skills testing session and to receive their ACLS certification card.

 

 

This combo course is intended for participants who have previously completed a PALS and ACLS class prior to attending a combo course.

 

NEW!!!

**Starting in January 2018, BLS certification is now an option in all Combo Courses.  You will need to select yes or no in your registration if you want this certification. 

 

Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) courses given by Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center are sponsored by the American Heart Association. These courses present information and skills needed for management of seriously ill or injured pediatric patients.

The Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) courses given by Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center present information and skills training needed for the management of serious cardiac emergencies and arrest in the adult patient.  Small group teaching is empahsized, and use of the human patient simulator is included.

Registrants must be physicians, nurses, paramedics or other healthcare personnel whose occupation requires managing the pediatric patient.

We offer PALS and ACLS using a hybrid learning model. The majority of the learning is a self-directed online module. The skills portion will build on core concepts based on the AHA fundamentals, followed by skills testing at the Center for Simulation and Research on the Oak Campus.

The online module instructions, PALS and ACLS algorithum pocket cards, and access keys will be included in this email automatically. All pre-course work is done online through the American Heart Association website and can be accessed by logging in from any computer.

 

Projected Combo dates.  Please continue to check the site for these dates to be opened.

Tuesday, November 7, 2017
Tuesday, December 19, 2017
Tuesday, January 9, 2018
Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Tuesday, February 13, 2018
Tuesday, March 36, 2018
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Thursday April 26, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018

 

Participants are required to bring documentation of completing the online modules to participate in the skills testing portion and to receive the PALS and ACLS certification cards.  

Note: There is no longer a distinction between the initial PALS or ACLS certification and the renewal course.

FOR ACLS & PALS:

513-636-6992/ SIMULATIONCENTER@CCHMC.ORG

FOR PARAMEDIC REFRESHER:

513-803-2616/ KENNETH.CRANK@CCHMC.ORG